“Those years are gone!”

March 1, 2013

I was working in downtown Indianapolis for a large company when I received my call to ministry. I enjoyed the work I was doing, but was also very excited about leaving and enrolling in seminary where I could spend more concentrated time studying God’s Word and learning how to effectively lead God’s people.
I remember one gripping experience I had at this buisness before I left.

One of the Vice Presidents of the company (a man near 70 who would soon be retiring) called me into his office to talk aobut my future with the company. He expressed supreme pleasure in the work I had been doing and let me know that the company was ready to extend a lucrative promotion to me, along with many ‘hard-to-turn-down’ benefits. He graciously laid out the generous package before me and then asked for my decision. Since I had already been contemplating my future, I replied that God had called me to Christian ministry to be a pastor and that I would be handing in my resignation soon.

Though, he was sad that I would be leaving the company, he said to me, “Dave, I think that’s wonderful that you are following your heart and you know what you want.” I listened intently as he continued speaking. “You probably don’t know this, but I felt a call to the ministry when I was a young man, BUT I DID NOT FOLLOW THE LEADING OF MY HEART. I knew definitely that God had put a burden on my heart to preach His Word, but I failed to obey that prompting.” As he was sharing this with me tears were streaming down his wrinkled face. “I decided to take another direction with my life and now those years are gone! My life took a turn and I moved away from the inner stirrings that I had so strongly felt.”

I believe the tears came from a sadness deep within him, as he realized lost years that could have been spent serving God and making a difference in people’s lives. His life never seemed to get back on track spiritually after that moment so many years before. He realized that turning away from that ‘God-moment’, when He felt God’s prompting upon his heart, had caused him to miss what he felt was a great opportunity that never came back to him. I could feel the deep regret in his voice. The tears said it all! Those years are gone!

Friend, are you letting God speak to your heart? Are you taking advantage of divine opportunities when they come your way? Don’t waste your life! Don’t live in such a way that you come to the end of your life with deep regrets and sorrow over lost opportunities to make a difference! Determine TODAY that you are going to yield yourself to God’s rule in your heart, and you will serve Him with all of your heart, and follow His leading in your life! You’ll be blessed when you do!!!

“Be very careful, the, how you live–not as unwise but as wise, making the most of every opportunity, because the days are evil.” Ephesians 5:15-16 NIV

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

